You can submit a booking inquiry for Kyoto kimono rental. Shop and service arrangements follow staff confirmation.

2026-10-21

Compare Kyoto kimono shops

Choose where you are standing. Nearby shops sort by straight-line distance, and a tap opens that shop in Google Maps. Pick one language. Hair and furisode can be added on top, and the map, table, and cards change together. After you pick a sight, the shops below reorder by straight-line distance and name the nearest door. Ten shops are listed. Figures are from each shop’s own site on 2026-10-21. Campaigns, tax-excluded prices, and Japan-resident discounts are marked. There is no Google score and no quality ranking.

Language
Also require

Start from where you are

Pick a sight. The map zooms there and the list sorts by straight-line distance. Tap a shop and Google Maps switches to that door, with walking directions. You do not search each name, and the language and price filters still apply.

One view of where shops cluster. Higashiyama is the dense group. Arashiyama and Fushimi sit apart.

Our address is not published. It is given when you inquire, so it is not on the map.

Ookini names Kiyomizu, Arashiyama, Fushimi Inari, and Yasaka shops, but the pages checked have no street address to plot.

Pins use each shop’s published address, converted with the Geospatial Information Authority of Japan. Straight-line distance is only for sorting. Walking time is in Google Maps. Floors and lane entrances are confirmed on arrival.

In walking-price order. Tap a name to open the card.

Price, shop, and language for each

Address not published

Kimono Kyoto This site

Chinese, English, or Japanese inquiry; basic try-on

¥2,980 / person (tax included)

  • Couple reference price ¥7,980 for two, tax included, women’s hair not included.
  • Hair styling is a separate plan at ¥5,980.
  • Photography is not in ¥2,980. Photo shoots are asked separately at JLP PHOTO.
What that price says
Basic styles, basic accessories, and basic dressing. Photography and hair styling are not included.
Formal price
Luxury furisode reference price from ¥9,800 / person (tax included). Hair styling is a separate plan at ¥5,980.
Language
Chinese, English, and Japanese are spoken (WeChat, Xiaohongshu). The Korean pages are for reading only. They do not mean staff speak Korean.
Note
This is a tax-included reference price and still needs staff confirmation. No shop address is published on the site.

Source View our plans

7 Kyoto shops: main, Kiyomizu, Higashiyama, Gion, Yasaka, Arashiyama, Fushimi

Okamoto

Chinese or Korean staff

Set Plan ¥2,980 (tax excluded)

  • Select ¥3,980, full outfit ¥4,980, Nagoya obi ¥5,980, all tax excluded.
  • Same-day homongi from ¥10,000 tax excluded. Same-day hakama from ¥9,000. Men ¥3,980, tax excluded.
  • New tabi are a gift. Plans include kimono, obi, pouch, tabi, and sandals.
What that price says
A preset kimono, obi, and bag. Plans include kimono, obi, drawstring bag, tabi, and sandals. Full hair styling is an extra ¥500 (tax excluded). At 10%, ¥2,980 is about ¥3,278 tax included. That figure is an estimate, not their published tax-included price.
Formal price
Same-day furisode from ¥15,000 (tax excluded). Same-day homongi from ¥10,000 (tax excluded).
Language
Their English column says menus are in Japanese, English, Chinese, and Korean, and that staff who can speak English, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, and Korean are available. Translation apps are also mentioned. It does not say every shop has a Korean speaker on every shift.
Note
Listed prices are tax excluded. Shops are around Kiyomizu, Gion, Yasaka, and Kodaiji. The Fushimi Inari shop’s “Korean-inspired design” is the interior, not a Korean language service.

Source Prices · Languages

Kyoto, Tokyo, Osaka, and more

wargo

Chinese site, simple hair

From ¥3,300 (tax included)

  • Simple hair is listed at ¥0, plus one hair ornament.
  • Web booking pre-checks a ¥1,100 hair option. Uncheck it if you do not want it.
  • Return after 15:00 adds ¥1,100.
What that price says
The Chinese plan page includes the kimono, obi, sandals, bag, tabi, other accessories, and dressing. Simple hair is listed at ¥0 and described as included, with one free hair ornament. The same page says web booking pre-selects a ¥1,100 hair option, which can be unchecked.
Formal price
The page says homongi and furisode are available. This plan page does not give a furisode price, so it is left out of the furisode comparison.
Language
There are Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, English, and Japanese sites. No Korean site or Korean service was on the pages checked, so Korean is not marked. A website is not the same as confirmed staff in that language.
Note
Shops are in Kyoto, Tokyo, Osaka, Saitama, and Kanazawa. Returning after 15:00 adds ¥1,100.

Source Chinese plan page

Gojo shop and Oike annex

Yumeyakata

Use the list price; campaign ended

Standard plan list price 5,280 yen

  • Hair plan list price 8,800 yen. The printed campaign price is 6,600, dated through 2026-08-31.
  • Couple list price 10,560 yen, campaign 8,000, also expired.
  • Location photography from 19,800 yen and indoor photography from 16,500 yen are not the rental.
What that price says
The English plan page does not say whether this price includes tax. It still prints a campaign price of 4,180 yen, with the campaign period ending 2026-08-31, which has passed. Hair styling is a separate plan at 8,800 yen list (6,600 campaign, same end date). Hair alone starts at 1,650 yen.
Formal price
Premium plan (furisode / homongi / montsuki hakama) from 11,000 yen. That page does not say tax included. The 16,500 yen figure is indoor photography, and 19,800 yen is location photography, not the kimono rental.
Language
The plan page intro says English-speaking staff. The shop pages are a Japanese site, and they are not separately written as Japanese-speaking staff. The header links to Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, and Korean sites. The booking form has Chinese as a language choice. Korean is an interpreter at an extra 3,000 yen per person, not free Korean-speaking staff.
Note
The campaign note also says the price applies to bookings from 9:00 to 16:00. A women’s casual plan is listed at 3,080 yen, free size only, about 30 pieces, and it carries the same expired campaign period.

Source Plans · Booking form

Kiyomizu, Gion, Arashiyama, Kyoto Station

Rika Kimono

Visitors from outside Japan, hair included

Hair-included plan, ¥6,500 and up (tax included) for visitors from outside Japan

  • Couple for two: from ¥11,000 before the discount, ¥8,000 for residents, hair included, no furisode or homongi.
  • Homongi from ¥16,500 before the discount, ¥15,000 on the resident price.
  • The page says “English and Chinese Support Available,” and there are Traditional Chinese and Korean sites.
What that price says
The ¥5,000 figure is the discount. The site says every displayed plan price is a discount limited to people living in Japan. Hair, a hair ornament, and dressing are included. Furisode and homongi are not. The couple plan for two is tax included: ¥11,000 and up before the discount, ¥8,000 and up for residents.
Formal price
Homongi: ¥16,500 and up before the discount, ¥15,000 and up on the resident price (tax included, hair included). Furisode: ¥36,500 and up before the discount, ¥35,000 and up for residents (tax included, hair included).
Language
The shop site itself is in Japanese. The FAQ also lists English, Traditional Chinese, and Korean websites. Captions say “English and Chinese Support Available.” These are recorded as websites, not as staff in each language.
Note
Four Kyoto shops: Kiyomizu-dera, Gion, Arashiyama, and Kyoto Station. Visitors who do not live in Japan may be charged the pre-discount price.

Source Official site

Kiyomizu, Arashiyama, Station, Gion, Fushimi

Aiwafuku

Chinese, English, Japanese staff; hair included

¥6,000 / person applies today (tax included, hair included)

  • Couple price today is ¥9,000 tax included for two. Outside October–November it is ¥8,500. Usual price ¥12,320.
  • Homongi today is ¥11,500 tax included. Furisode today is ¥13,000. Usual furisode price ¥27,300.
  • The site says plans include women’s hair, an ornament, and a full kimono set.
What that price says
Women’s kimono with hair: usual price ¥8,940. The page says ¥6,000 from October 1 to November 30, and ¥5,500 outside that window, both tax included. The site says women’s hair is included on plans, along with kimono, obi, juban, undergarment, sandals, tabi, bag, and a hair ornament.
Formal price
Furisode usual price ¥27,300 (tax included). The page price is ¥13,000 from October 1 to November 30, and ¥12,500 outside that window. Homongi’s page price today is ¥11,500 (tax included).
Language
The official site says staff who speak Chinese, English, and Japanese are on site. No Korean-speaking staff or Korean site was found there, so Korean is not marked.
Note
Kyoto shops include Kiyomizu, Arashiyama Togetsukyo, Kyoto Station, Gion-Shijo, and Fushimi Inari. Campaign prices change.

Source Official site

Kyoto Station, also Asakusa

VASARA

Starting at Kyoto Station

Standard plan from ¥3,278 (tax included)

  • Dressing at 7:00 or 7:30 adds ¥3,300 tax included per outfit. 8:00 or 8:30 adds ¥2,200.
  • Choosing and dressing is about one hour for one person, about 1.5 to 2 hours for a group.
  • Return to the original shop. Another VASARA shop is ¥3,850 per outfit.
What that price says
The Chinese site splits plans into Standard from ¥3,278 and One Star from ¥5,478, both tax included. Hair is described as both free and paid options, so ¥3,278 is not marked as already including hair. A student plan mentions a hair ornament.
Formal price
The Japanese homepage lists furisode from ¥43,890 (tax included). The same page also has homongi plans.
Language
There are Simplified Chinese, Japanese, and English sites. The English FAQ says the language they promise is Japanese, they do not provide an interpreter, and you should bring a translation tool. English is marked as a website only. Japanese is marked as spoken. No Korean service was found.
Note
Kyoto Station shop: 6F SK Building, 719 Higashishiokoji-cho, Shimogyo-ku. Open 7:00–18:00, last dressing 17:00, return by 17:30. Return at another shop is ¥3,850 per outfit. Late return is ¥2,200. Overnight is ¥2,200. There are also shops in Asakusa and elsewhere. Plan prices are the brand prices.

Source Chinese plans · Kyoto Station shop

Kiyomizu-dera, Yasaka (Gion)

Ookini

Chinese listed, standard hair included

Kimono or yukata ¥4,850 (tax included, standard hair included)

  • The ¥3,000 tax-included budget plan has fewer styles and does not include a men’s haori.
  • The Yasaka shop says one wash for a stain is not charged extra.
  • Open 8:30–18:00. 30-minute photography is ¥10,000, and that page says the photographer speaks Chinese, English, and Japanese.
What that price says
This plan lists standard hair and an ornament, obi, bag, zori or geta, and props. A budget plan is ¥3,000 tax included, with fewer styles, basic women’s hair, and no men’s haori. Lace ¥5,670. Men ¥4,400. Children ¥4,250. Couples ¥9,600. Groups ¥4,000. All tax included.
Formal price
Furisode and homongi ¥16,500 (tax included), with standard hair and an ornament. 30-minute photography is ¥10,000. The page says the photographer speaks Chinese, English, and Japanese.
Language
The plan page says Japanese / English / Chinese, and also Google Translate and gestures. Translation software is not Korean-speaking staff.
Note
Two Kyoto shops: Kiyomizu-dera and Yasaka Shrine (Gion), open 8:30–18:00. The Yasaka shop says one wash for stains is not charged extra. There is also an Asakusa shop.

Source Plans · Languages

Higashiyama: Kiyomizu, Gion, Yasaka

Riko

Choosing homongi or furisode grades

Accessory plan from ¥8,800 (tax included, hair included)

  • Summer yukata is ¥4,400 tax included. In October, do not treat it as today’s floor price.
  • Return by 17:30. After that, ¥1,100 per person every 5 minutes. Return to the original shop.
  • Without a hair service, a hair ornament is an extra ¥550.
What that price says
Summer yukata is ¥4,400 (tax included). It is October, so that summer plan is not used as today’s walking price. Without a hair service, a hair ornament is ¥550. Couple yukata from ¥9,900 (tax included). Children from ¥5,500. Men’s samurai outfit ¥16,500.
Formal price
Homongi: basic ¥12,100, full ¥16,500, premium ¥22,000, top ¥33,000. Furisode: premium ¥33,000, top ¥49,800, with hair and insurance ¥66,000. All tax included.
Language
There are Japanese, English, and Simplified Chinese sites, and no Korean site. Customer comments mention staff who spoke Chinese. Those are comments, not a company policy.
Note
Three Higashiyama shops. Kiyomizu main: 351-16 Masuyacho. Gion: 570-261 Gion-cho south. Yasaka: 499-10 Shimogawara-cho. Return by 17:30. After that, ¥1,100 per person per 5 minutes. Return to the original shop.

Source Chinese home · Plan list

Nishiki / near Kawaramachi

MAIKOYA

English staff, accessories in one price

¥5,000 in the Nishiki rental page’s product data

  • You can keep it until 6 pm. For longer, book an earlier start, such as 10:30.
  • ¥5,000 is in the product data. The visible heading does not repeat the number.
  • Kimono plus tea ceremony is on the tea page and is not the same price as this rental.
What that price says
The text says kimono, underwear, dressing, tabi, zori or geta, and a Japanese bag are in the price, with no extra charge for sandals or the bag. Rental lasts until 6 pm. Hair is not in that included list.
Formal price
This page has no furisode price. Kimono plus tea ceremony is a different experience and is not compared as the same price.
Language
The text says English- and Japanese-speaking staff. It does not mention Chinese or Korean.
Note
¥5,000 is in this page’s product data. The visible heading does not print the yen amount again. Address: 329 Ebiyacho, Nakagyo-ku. Tea-ceremony packages are on a different page.

Source Nishiki rental page

Comparison

ShopWalking priceHairChineseEnglishJapaneseKoreanFurisodeWhereFit
Kimono Kyoto¥2,980 / person (tax included)Extra or not includedCan speakStaffStaffWebsitefrom ¥9,800Address not publishedChinese, English, or Japanese inquiry; basic try-on
OkamotoSet Plan ¥2,980 (tax excluded)Extra or not includedCan speakStaffStaffStafffrom ¥15,000 ex tax7 Kyoto shops: main, Kiyomizu, Higashiyama, Gion, Yasaka, Arashiyama, FushimiChinese or Korean staff
wargoFrom ¥3,300 (tax included)In the priceWebsiteWebsiteWebsiteNot statedNo furisode priceKyoto, Tokyo, Osaka, and moreChinese site, simple hair
YumeyakataStandard plan list price 5,280 yenExtra or not includedFormStaffWebsitePaid interpreterfrom 11,000 yenGojo shop and Oike annexUse the list price; campaign ended
Rika KimonoHair-included plan, ¥6,500 and up (tax included) for visitors from outside JapanIn the priceWebsiteWebsiteWebsiteWebsitefurisode from ¥36,500Kiyomizu, Gion, Arashiyama, Kyoto StationVisitors from outside Japan, hair included
Aiwafuku¥6,000 / person applies today (tax included, hair included)In the priceCan speakStaffStaffNot statedusual ¥27,300Kiyomizu, Arashiyama, Station, Gion, FushimiChinese, English, Japanese staff; hair included
VASARAStandard plan from ¥3,278 (tax included)Extra or not includedWebsiteWebsiteStaffNot statedfurisode from ¥43,890Kyoto Station, also AsakusaStarting at Kyoto Station
OokiniKimono or yukata ¥4,850 (tax included, standard hair included)In the priceCan speakStaffStaffNot statedfurisode ¥16,500Kiyomizu-dera, Yasaka (Gion)Chinese listed, standard hair included
RikoAccessory plan from ¥8,800 (tax included, hair included)In the priceWebsiteWebsiteWebsiteNot statedfurisode ¥66,000Higashiyama: Kiyomizu, Gion, YasakaChoosing homongi or furisode grades
MAIKOYA¥5,000 in the Nishiki rental page’s product dataExtra or not includedNot statedStaffStaffNot statedNo furisode priceNishiki / near KawaramachiEnglish staff, accessories in one price

Chinese

Chinese conversation, or an official Chinese-language claim: this site, Aiwafuku, Okamoto, and Ookini. Chinese website or booking form: wargo, Rika, Yumeyakata, Riko, and VASARA. MAIKOYA’s page says English and Japanese staff. A Chinese website is not the same as Chinese-speaking staff.

English

English-speaking staff are stated by this site, Okamoto, Aiwafuku, Ookini, Yumeyakata, and MAIKOYA. English websites: wargo, Rika, Riko, and VASARA. VASARA’s English FAQ says the language they promise is Japanese, with no interpreter. An English site is not English-speaking staff.

Japanese

Japanese is stated as spoken at this site, Aiwafuku, Ookini, MAIKOYA, and Okamoto. VASARA’s English FAQ says Japanese is the language they promise. Japanese websites: wargo, Yumeyakata, Rika, and Riko. The “Japanese staff” filter keeps only shops that state they can speak Japanese.

Korean

Korean-speaking staff were stated only by Okamoto. Korean websites: Rika, Yumeyakata, and this site. Yumeyakata’s Korean is a paid interpreter, 3,000 yen per person. Our Korean pages are for reading only. Ookini mentions translation software and gestures. The other shops had no Korean claim on the pages checked.

Walking kimono

Low to high, and the numbers are not the same kind. This site ¥2,980 tax included, no photography, no hair. Okamoto ¥2,980 tax excluded. VASARA from ¥3,278 tax included. wargo from ¥3,300 tax included. Ookini ¥4,850 tax included with standard hair. MAIKOYA product data ¥5,000. Yumeyakata list 5,280 yen, campaign expired. Aiwafuku today ¥6,000 tax included with hair. Rika for visitors from outside Japan from ¥6,500 tax included with hair. Riko accessory plan from ¥8,800 with hair.

Higher formal price

Published furisode or premium prices, not a quality score. Riko furisode with hair and insurance ¥66,000. VASARA furisode from ¥43,890. Rika furisode from ¥36,500 before the resident discount. Aiwafuku usual furisode ¥27,300. Ookini furisode or homongi ¥16,500. Okamoto same-day furisode from ¥15,000, tax excluded. Yumeyakata premium from 11,000 yen, tax not stated. This site from ¥9,800. wargo and MAIKOYA had no furisode price.

We do not book these shops and we do not guarantee their stock. A 10% estimate appears only in the Okamoto note. Kyoetsu’s Japanese homepage says the shop has closed, so it is not in the table. Sakura Kimono’s shop is in Nara, so it is not in this Kyoto comparison. Open the source page before you book.